CCSD educators recognized at annual math conference

Evans High Math Teacher, Taylor Thompson, received the Dwight Love Award, given for excellence in teaching and in life; and for giving much to others beyond the classroom as a mentor, teacher, and leader. Ms. Thompson was also recognized for her service as the outgoing GCTM Central East Representative. In addition, Lakeside High Math Teacher Carlene Basciano, was also recognized as the incoming GCTM Central East Representative.

Stefanie Frey, of Greenbrier High, received the 2022 GCTM Teacher of Excellence in Secondary Mathematics Award. The award was given to Ms. Frey for her strong content knowledge, evidence of growth in the teaching of mathematics, and for her professional involvement in GCTM. Ms. Frey also participated in this year's conference, alongside Ms. Lisa Sill, from Greenbrier High, as presenters of their session titled “Experience a Thinking Classroom.” The presentation provided educators with best practices for creating an effective “vertical learning space,” within the classroom, which is geared towards getting students out of their seats and truly engaged in learning. 

Allie Beldin, an Instructional Specialist at Stallings Island Middle, also presented at the conference with her session titled "Blended Learning for the Inclusion Math Classroom.” Ms. Beldin's presentation included research-driven strategies for educators on how to create effective math lessons that are individualized and can best meet a student’s learning needs.


teachers smiling

Columbia County School District math educators, pictured from left: Caroline Basciano of Lakeside High; Taylor Thompson, of Evans High; and Stefanie Frey and Lisa Sill of Greenbrier High. Not pictured, but also in attendance as a presenter was Allie Beldin, the Instructional Specialist at Stallings Island Middle.

teachers smiling with plaques

Stefanie Frey (left), of Greenbrier High was awarded the 2022 GCTM Teacher of Excellence in Secondary Mathematics. Taylor Thompson (right), received the Dwight Love Award.