ACE Grades 9-12 » Dual Enrollment

Dual Enrollment


The added dual enrollment opportunity brings professors from Augusta University to campus at each of the district's five high schools, saving students time and money while earning college credit at no cost to them.

The Columbia County School District is pleased to announce additional dual enrollment offerings for students beginning with the 2023-2024 school year.

On Wednesday, May 3, 2023, Dr. Steve Flynt, Superintendent of Columbia County School District, and Augusta University President and CEO Brooks Keel, made the partnership official with a formal signing ceremony on the AU campus.

“The Columbia County School District is grateful for our partnership with Augusta University and their efforts to help bring our students this unique and enhanced learning opportunity,” said Dr. Steve Flynt. “Providing dual enrollment on campus at all five high schools offers more students a chance to get ahead academically, while also providing a financial advantage to earn college credits at no cost.”

Faculty members from the research university will provide certain college-level courses to students in classrooms on campus in each of the school district’s five high schools. Courses include entry-level subjects in math, economics, geography, Spanish, political science, and more.

Along with Augusta University, this added partnership means students now have dual enrollment opportunities on their high school campuses, with three higher education institutions including Georgia Military College and East Georgia State College.

“The collaborative effort between Augusta University and Columbia County School District to bring post-secondary courses to the high school setting is monumental for our students,” said Assistant Principal Ashley Prince, of Harlem High.  

“For many students, the commute between their high school buildings and a college campus is a barrier to pursuing dual enrollment opportunities. Having Augusta University professors on our school campuses removes this barrier and has the potential create a gateway for students who would not otherwise pursue higher post-secondary educational opportunities."

Students interested in participating in dual enrollment should contact their school counselors for eligibility requirements and other information.

Dual Enrollment in Georgia

In 2015, the Georgia General Assembly passed a law that streamlined the existing dual-credit programs. As a result, Accel, Dual HOPE Grant, and the original Move On When Ready have been combined into one program entitled Move On When Ready (MOWR), in which high school students may earn high school course credits while taking college courses. Georgia’s Move On When Ready dual-credit program is available to any Georgia student in grades 9-12 enrolled in a public school, private school, or home-study program operated pursuant to O.C.G.A. 20-2-690 in Georgia. Students must apply and be accepted to a participating postsecondary institution. In 2017, the name was changed to Dual Enrollment to ensure students are utilizing the program appropriately and to simplify people’s understanding of and navigation through the state’s program.

Dual Enrollment Facts: 

  • The new Dual Enrollment dual-credit program provides assistance for postsecondary tuition, mandatory fees, and books.
  • In some cases, students may be charged or be expected to purchase course-related fees, supplies, or equipment.
  • Eligible students may participate part-time or full-time at multiple postsecondary institutions, but applications for Dual Enrollment must be completed every term (semester or quarter).
  • Dual Enrollment program summer eligibility began in summer of 2016. 
  • College courses must be selected from the approved Dual Enrollment Course Directory located of 
  • The Dual Enrollment dual-credit program will pay a maximum of 15 semester hours per semester or 12 quarter hours per quarter per student and per postsecondary institution. 
  • Once all high school graduation or home-study requirements are met, students are no longer eligible to participate in the Dual Enrollment dual-credit program. 
Below are a few points of interest to help students and parents understand the new Dual Enrollment dual-credit program. 
  • The eligible student and parent/guardian should schedule the required Dual Enrollment advisement session with the school counselor to discuss the dual-credit program options. 
  • Completion of the Dual Enrollment Georgia Student Finance Commission application is required each semester or quarter. 
  • The student must apply and be accepted to a participating eligible postsecondary institution (University System of Georgia, Technical College System of Georgia or private institutions). 
  • The student and parent/guardian must sign a Student Participation Agreement during/after an advisement session with the high school counselor. 
  • Eligible students may participate in high school competitive and other extracurricular events.
  • Courses do not count against any maximum hourly caps for the HOPE scholarships or grants. 
  • College courses taken must count toward local and/or state high school graduation requirements. 
  • The Georgia Student Finance Commission will manage funding and payments to the postsecondary institutions provided by annual state appropriations. 
  • The Dual Enrollment dual-credit program is not available for coursework exempted or given credit by examination, testing, training, or prior experience. 
  • Dropping a course or not following program rules and regulations may result in students losing credit, receiving a failing grade and/or being removed from Dual Enrollment; thus, affecting their high school graduation requirements. 
  • Students must make annual progress towards graduation and completion of their Individual Graduation Plan to participate in the Dual Enrollment dual-credit program. 

More details about the new Dual Enrollment dual-credit program may be found at

For more details and information regarding other dual credit programs, including articulation, please contact the Georgia Department of Education at the following web address: